## MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE LIBRARY REDEVELOPMENT TASK FORCE OF THE NORTH COUNTY LIBRARY AUTHORITY, HELD ON JULY 26, 2018, AT 3:30 P.M. AT LOS ALTOS CITY HALL, 1 NORTH SAN ANTONIO ROAD, LOS ALTOS, CALIFORNIA

## **ROLL CALL**

PRESENT: Mary Jo Kelly, Vice Chair (Friends of the Library), Barbara Adey, Karen Eberle, Suzanne Epstein (North County Library Authority), Steve Katz (via telephone for part of the meeting), Catharine Kristian, Mark Rogge, Bob Simon (Los Altos Library Endowment), and Nancy Tucker. Non-voting advisors: Marlene Iwamoto (Santa Clara County Library)

ABSENT: Cindy Hill (Los Altos Library Commission) and Diane Schmidt

## ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION/ACTION

1. <u>Meeting Minutes</u>

<u>Action</u>: Upon a motion by Catharine Kristian, seconded by Karen Eberle, the Task Force unanimously approved the minutes of the July 11, 2018 meeting, as amended.

2. <u>Election of Chair and Vice Chair</u>

Mary Jo Kelly nominated Cindy Hill as Chair. Suzanne Epstein nominated Barbara Adey and Catharine Kristian as Chair. Catharine Kristian declined the position. The item was continued to later in the meeting to allow Steve Katz to join the discussion.

3. <u>Task Force History</u>

Staff provided a review of and the Task Force discussed the history of the Library Redevelopment Task Force.

2. Election of Chair and Vice Chair (continued)

<u>Action</u>: Task Force members generally agreed that Cindy Hill and Barbara Adey should serve as Chair and Vice Chair, with the one receiving the most votes serving as Chair. Cindy Hill received five votes to serve as Chair and Barbara Adey received four votes. Cindy Hill was named as Chair and Barbara Adey named as Vice Chair.

4. Potential next steps for Task Force

Task Force members discussed potential next steps in the Library Redevelopment project.

<u>Action</u>: Upon a motion by Mark Rogge, seconded by Bob Simon, a subcommittee of Barbara Adey, Steve Katz, Suzanne Epstein, Mary Jo Kelly and Catharine Kristian was formed to develop a tentative strategy for next steps to be reviewed by the full Task Force, by the following vote: AYES: Adey, Eberle, Epstein, Kelly, Kristian, Rogge, Simon and Tucker; NOES: None; ABSTAIN: None; ABSENT: Hill, Katz and Schmidt.

5. <u>Task Force meeting schedule</u>

Task Force members discussed the meeting days and times for the Task Force.

<u>Action</u>: Upon a motion by Catharine Kristian, seconded by Mark Rogge, the Task Force set the meeting schedule as the second and fourth Thursdays of each month from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m., by the following vote: AYES: Adey, Eberle, Epstein, Kelly, Kristian, Rogge, Simon and Tucker; NOES: None; ABSTAIN: None; ABSENT: Hill, Katz and Schmidt.

6. <u>Future meetings</u> The next meeting of the Task Force will be August 9, 2018 at 4:00 p.m.

## ADJOURNMENT

Vice Chair Kelly adjourned the meeting at 5:58 p.m.